The Holy Rosary Mysteries

The Mysteries of the Rosary are reflective contemplations on the events surrounding and encompassing the life and death of Our Lord Jesus Christ. They begin with the Annunciation and span the Ascension and beyond. Initially there were three sets of Mysteries known as the Joyful, Sorrowful and the Glorious Mysteries. In 2002, in his apostolic letter ‘Rosarium Virginis Mariae‘, Pope John Paul II proposed the observance of a fourth set, known as the Luminous Mysteries.

These Mysteries all contain five specific events, each one being the primary focus when praying through the five decades of the Rosary. The four Mystery groups, with their specific Mysteries, have been allocated to specific days of the week, which are as follows.

The Five Joyful Mysteries

Monday and Saturday

  • The Annunciation – Theme of the Mystery: Humility and servility.
  • The Visitation – Theme of the Mystery: Charity and love for neighbours.
  • The Birth of The Lord – Theme of the Mystery: Spiritual poverty and detachment from the material riches of the world.
  • The Presentation of Our Lord – Theme of the Mystery: Obedience and purity.
  • The Finding of Our Lord in the Temple – Theme of the Mystery: Wisdom and piety, the joy of finding the love of Jesus.

The Five Sorrowful Mysteries

Tuesday & Friday

  • The Agony in the Garden – Theme of the Mystery: Contrition and sorrow for our sins, oneness with the will of God.
  • The Scourging at the Pillar – Theme of the Mystery: Mortification and purity of heart.
  • The Crowning with Thorns – Theme of the Mystery: Contempt for evil and personal courage.
  • The Carrying of the Cross – Theme of the Mystery: Patience and endurance under hardship.
  • The Crucifixion and Death of Our Lord – Theme of the Mystery: Salvation and forgiveness.

The Five Glorious Mysteries

Wednesday & Sunday

  • The Resurrection – Theme of the Mystery: Faith and conversion of heart.
  • The Ascension – Theme of the Mystery: Hope and desire for ascension to Heaven.
  • The Arrival of the Holy Spirit – Theme of the Mystery: Wisdom to seek the truth and worship of the Holy Spirit.
  • The Assumption of The Virgin Mary into Heaven – Theme of the Mystery: True devotion to the Blessed Virgin Mary.
  • The Coronation of The Virgin Mary – Theme of the Mystery: Perseverance and trust in our Blessed Mother intercession.

The Five Luminous Mysteries


  • The Baptism in the Jordan – Theme of the Mystery: Faith in the Holy Spirit.
  • The Wedding at Cana – Theme of the Mystery: Faith in the Blessed Virgin Mary to intercede on our behalf in our times of need.
  • The Proclamation of the Kingdom – Theme of the Mystery: Sincere repentance and trust in God’s mercy.
  • The Transfiguration – Theme of the Mystery: Desire for Holiness and transforming grace.
  • The Institution of the Eucharist – Theme of the Mystery: Faith in the presence of our Lord through the gifts of the Blessed Eucharist.

Pray along with the Mysteries Videos