How to Pray the Holy Rosary

Learning how to Pray with the Holy Rosary is as simple as following the steps listed below. We also recommend you watch the videos found at the bottom of this page. Specific Prayers such as the ‘Hail Mary’, the ‘Apostles Creed’ and the ‘Our Father’ can be found on the ‘Prayers of the Rosary’ page. These Prayers are known as meditative prayers and are very helpful in organising and focusing your thoughts. A Divine mystery is announced simply quoting the name of the mystery you will be focusing your thoughts towards. ie “The third Joyful mystery, the Birth of Our Lord.”

Praying the Holy Rosary

The Crucifix

Whilst holding the crucifix on the end of the Rosary, you begin by making a sign of the Cross and saying “In the Name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Spirit“.
Next step is to recite the ‘Apostles Creed’.

The Beads

You are now ready to progress along the beads. Please note that each list item below represents a bead or section of the Rosary.

  • We begin on the first bead above the cross where we recite the ‘Our Father’.
  • The next grouping consists of 3 beads. Recite the ‘Hail Mary’ on each of these beads while focusing your thoughts on the three Divine virtues of faith, hope, and charity.
  • On the the section of cord or chain immediately after the three bead grouping, recite the ‘Glory be’.
  • The next bead along is a single bead where the ‘Our Father’ is recited. It is also used to mark the announcement of the first Divine mystery. (These Divine mysteries serve as a focal point for our reflective thoughts or meditation. Different mysteries are allocated to specific days of the week for contemplation. Please refer below for a deeper explanation.)
  • You now have arrived at a grouping of 10 beads as you begin to move clockwise around the Rosary. This grouping of beads is known as a decade and upon each of the beads the ‘Hail Mary’ is recited while also meditating on the first of this days mysteries. For example, if today is Monday, we would be contemplating the ‘Joyful’ mysteries, the first of which is the Annunciation. On reciting the ‘Hail Mary’ on the tenth bead of this grouping you will have finished the first of five decades and contemplation of the first of this days mysteries. These five decades make up the Chaplet of the Holy Rosary.
  • The next bead along is a single bead whereby the ‘Glory be’ the ‘O My Jesus’ and the ‘Our Father’ is prayed. This bead is also the announcement point of the second of this days mysteries. Again if it is a Monday, then the focus of your contemplation for the next 10 beads would be the second Joyful mystery called the ‘Visitation’.
  • You have now arrived at the beginning of the second grouping of ten beads (second decade) where a ‘Hail Mary’ is recited on each of the beads while focusing your thoughts on the second of this days mysteries.
  • This methodical progression continues through each of the five decades. (with deep reflection given to each section of this days Divine Mystery)
  • On returning to the joiner you may continue through another Chaplet, giving contemplation to another Divine mystery, or you may end.

The Ending Prayers

To finish this Rosary prayer session you recite the ‘Glory be’, ‘O My Jesus’, ‘Our Father’ and ‘Hail Holy Queen’ finishing with the sign of the Cross.

Praying the Rosary Diagram

Come Pray the Rosary Online Now

‘Come Pray the Rosary’ is a wonderful website where you can pray the Rosary right now with many others. It is a great way to learn the Rosary. Just click the image below.

How to Pray the Rosary Videos